Steph Young

Community Support Worker,
Peer Mentorship

(she/her or he/him)

Laing House is an amazing place with incredible people, and I am so excited to be a part of it.

I started working at Laing House as a summer student in 2012, and I was blown away by how compassionate and welcoming everyone is. It's hard not to feel at home when you're here. After the summer ended, I continued to work on Saturdays, helping with weekly brunch and activities. Now I find myself here full-time helping members reach their Independent Living goals and I couldn't be happier!

I graduated from NSCAD University in 2013 with a BFA in Filmmaking. As a filmmaker, and as someone who is passionate about social equality, both my narrative and documentary work tends to focus on contemporary issues facing marginalized communities. I am especially involved in the queer community and knowledgeable about the issues facing LGBTQ youth. In addition to filmmaking I enjoy drawing, and many of the hand-drawn sharks you see floating around the House are courtesy of yours truly.

The next time you're at Laing House, come find me and say hi! I always enjoy meeting new people and listening to their stories.

 

Additional Info

  • Email: syoung@lainghouse.org
  • Phone: (902) 425-9018 x 222

The Foundation Team

  • Andrea Eisses
    Andrea Eisses

    Executive Director,
    Laing House Foundation

    • Email aeisses@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 225
  • Sarah White
    Sarah White

    Fund Development Coordinator

    • Email swhite@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 224
  • Denise Collier
    Denise Collier

    Fund Development Officer

    • Email DCollier@lainghouse.org
    • Phone 902-425-9018 x 253
  • Catherine McKellar
    Catherine McKellar

    Catherine McKellar,
    Communications Coordinator

    • Email Cmckellar@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 258

The Administration Team

  • Hilary Rankin
    Hilary Rankin

    Executive Director,
    Laing House Association

    • Email hrankin@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 257
  • Crystal Martin
    Crystal Martin

    Administrative Coordinator

    • Email cmartin@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 221

The Program Team

  • Hope Bowden
    Hope Bowden

    Community Support Worker,
    Community Navigation
    RPC-C, B.A. Soc., Dip. Counsel.

    • Email hbowden@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 259
  • Jan Davison
    Jan Davison

    Community Support Worker,
    Healthy Living

    • Email jdavison@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 228
  • Karyn Haag
    Karyn Haag

    Community Support Worker, Evaluation

    • Email khaag@lainghouse.org
    • Phone 902-425- 9018 x 231
  • Kyle Kelly
    Kyle Kelly

    Community Support Worker,
    Education & Employment

    • Email kkelly@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 229
  • Steph Young
    Steph Young

    Community Support Worker,
    Peer Mentorship

    • Email syoung@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 222
  • Tyler Simmonds
    Tyler Simmonds

    Peer Support Worker

    • Email tsimmonds@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 232
  • Brad Jones
    Brad Jones

    Peer Support Worker

    • Email Bjones@lainghouse.org
    • Phone ( 902) 425-9018 x 232

The Community Development Team

  • Tracy Boyer
    Tracy Boyer

    Manager of Community Development

    • Email tboyer@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 226
  • Elisha Stairs
    Elisha Stairs

    Community Development Coordinator, Yarmouth

    • Email estairs@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 774-0905
  • Maggie Scott
    Maggie Scott

    Community Support Worker, Yarmouth

    • Email mscott@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 774-0905
  • Lacey Wood
    Lacey Wood

    Peer Support Worker, Yarmouth

    • Email Lwood@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 774-0905
  • Quinn MacIsaac
    Quinn MacIsaac

    Community Support Worker

    • Email Qmacisaac@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 830-0387
  • Bailey Cooke
    Bailey Cooke

    Community Development Coordinator, Yarmouth

    • Email bcooke@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 774-0905

Login Form