Catherine McKellar

Catherine McKellar,
Communications

I love reading. I always have a book and my head is often in it. I was like that as a kid. I like stories about strong, courageous people. People who overcome challenges and continue to grow. I think that is what drew me to Laing House. People here are strong. They are passionate. Many have overcome challenges and are now leading the changes we need to see in mental health support. 

My job is to tell the Laing House stories. And that makes me want to come to work. I want to be part of a team that is making a difference every day because, for me, that is a story worth telling. 

I am from Ontario. I was a Queen’s Park Intern, managed communications for The Toronto Board of Trade then moved Consumers Gas (now Enbridge) where I was part of the internal communications rebranding team) and finally a Senior Consultant with Advance Planning/MS&L. Once I landed here, I joined Sport Nova Scotia where I was sharing stories about athletes and sports as the Communications Director.

So, when I’m not telling tales, I’m hanging out with my family, baking, volunteering in the community or, yes, reading a book.

Additional Info

  • Email: Cmckellar@lainghouse.org
  • Phone: (902) 425-9018 x 226

The Foundation Team

  • Catherine McKellar
    Catherine McKellar

    Catherine McKellar,
    Communications

    • Email Cmckellar@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 226
  • Beth Pyesmany Arsenault

    Beth Pyesmany Arsenault
    Lead, Fund Development Operations

    • Email bpyesmany@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 253

The Administration Team

  • Heather McPeake

    Interim Executive Director,
    Laing House Foundation

    • Email hmcpeake@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 ext. 225
  • Crystal Martin
    Crystal Martin

    Administrative Coordinator

    • Email cmartin@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 221

The Program Team

  • Hope Bowden
    Hope Bowden

    Community Support Worker,
    Community Navigation
    B.A. Soc., Dip. Counsel.

    • Email hbowden@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 259
  • Jan Davison
    Jan Davison

    Community Support Worker,
    Healthy Living

    • Email jdavison@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 228
  • Karyn Haag
    Karyn Haag

    Community Support Worker, Evaluation

    • Email khaag@lainghouse.org
    • Phone 902-425- 9018 x 231
  • Kyle Kelly
    Kyle Kelly

    Program Team Supervisor,
    Education & Employment Coordinator

    • Email kkelly@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 257
  • Steph Young
    Steph Young

    Community Support Worker,
    Peer Mentorship

    • Email syoung@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 222
  • Tyler Simmonds
    Tyler Simmonds

    Peer Support Worker

    • Email tsimmonds@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 232
  • Vie Jones
    Vie Jones

    Community Support Worker,
    Creative Arts

    • Email Bjones@lainghouse.org
    • Phone ( 902) 425-9018 x 229
  • Tia DeGiobbi

    Peer Support Worker
    (contract)

    • Email tdegiobbi@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 425-9018 x 232

The Community Development Team

  • Maggie Scott
    Maggie Scott

    Yarmouth Site Supervisor

    • Email mscott@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 774-2328
  • Lacey Wood
    Lacey Wood

    Peer Support Worker, Yarmouth

    • Email Lwood@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 774-2328
  • Quinn MacIsaac
    Quinn MacIsaac

    Community Support Worker

    • Email Qmacisaac@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 830-0387
  • Justin DeVeau

     Program Assistant, Yarmouth

    • Email jdeveau@lainghouse.org
    • Phone (902) 774-2328